Inês Martins

Inês Martins

Profile

Time in tech 3 years
Current role Software Developer
Place of origin Portugal

Tell us more about you:

Early years and where you came from?

Born and raised in Porto. First studied Communication Sciences at FLUP, later decided to switch to Software development.

How were you introduced to the world of the Portuguese tech industry?

For the past 5 years, I’ve been to some Geek Girls Portugal events and other events organised by women in tech.

Walk me through your work and what you are doing now in the tech industry.

Developing the interface for Adapttech’s Web and iOS applications

What part of what you do, you love the most?

How fun and simple it is. You have a problem to solve and you try to solve it just like a puzzle. There’s nothing complicated about it, other than the problem itself.

What advice do you have for young women that want to get into tech and don’t know where to start?

Once I decided I wanted to switch careers I started working for a company where I did some communication work and received software/programming training in return. There are many companies that offer Academies and training programs, as a way to recruit “non-techies” to the field, so I think the entry barrier is very low, it’s just a matter of knowing that there’s a place for women.

Walk me through a day in your life as a Portuguese women in tech.

Get to work around 9

Check tasks for the day

Work til 6pm

Go to school (ISEP)

Sleep (barely)

**What’s the best advice you’ve ever received? ** Fake it ‘till you make it

What apps/software/tools can’t you live without?

Twitter mostly and Instagram

** Links that you want to share?**

https://www.adapttech.eu/